MN Multi-State Permit To Carry Class
All Inclusive class includes range fee and gun rental, if needed,
and Concealed Carry and Home Defense Fundamentals book.
Next class is Sat April 7th 8:30-2:00 in Maple Grove
Spring Special – Save $20
$109 $89, Couples can share the book for $163.00
Add Florida permit for $15 more.
Certified United States Concealed Carry Instructor for:
Mn Permit To Carry
Certified MN DNR Firearm Safety Instructor
NRA Range Safety Officer
This is an all inclusive premium class that exceeds the state requirements for a MN Permit to Carry a Pistol. The fee includes the classroom portion, the range time, targets, and gun rental if necessary. Also included is the Concealed Carry and Home Defense Fundamentals book by Michael Martin. The book is essential for you as a reference manual as you progress down your journey as a responsible gun owner.
This class is for everyone. If you are an experienced permit holder looking for a renewal class, I promise you’ll learn something new. If you’ve never held a handgun before, you will receive the instruction you need to be able to handle one safely.
The course material from the United States Concealed Carry Association is the best there is. Far from just another boring Power Point, the USCCA materials are loaded with colorful, engaging, photos, illustrations and videos. Even if you have had no previous firearms experience, you will not feel like you are over your head and being left behind. Parts of the class are interactive and hands on and you’ll have ample opportunities to ask questions.
In addition to handgun skills, this class is strong on situational awareness (how not to become a victim), on the legal issues surrounding the use of deadly force for self-defense (how not to become a victim of the legal system) and on the physiological effects (fight or flight mechanisms) your body and mind will experience during a potentially deadly force attack.
Frequently Asked Questions
Who may apply for a MN Permit to Carry a Pistol?
Anyone who is a permanent US resident at least 21 years of age, can pass a thorough background check and is not otherwise prohibited from possessing a firearm.
What do I need to bring?
Your driver’s license or state ID card. Your handgun (if you have one) and box of ammo . Eye protection if you don’t wear glasses. I will provide ear plugs.
If I don’t have my own gun?
You can use one of mine and I’ll supply the ammo.
Are there really no additional charges?
That’s right. Everything is included. Well, except for sales tax. This is Minnesota after all.
How long will it take to get my permit?
The sherif’s office has 30 days to issue or deny your permit application. Your permit is good for 5 years.
Is it really okay for someone with no experience with guns to take this class?
You bet. This class covers basic handgun safety and use. But it goes way beyond that. There is a lot more that you need to know about carrying a handgun than just shooting well though that is certainly important. That said, this is not an advanced pistol class. Everyone should seek additional training after they have their Permit to Carry.
What if I fail the class?
That’s unlikely. There is no written exam and expert marksmanship is not required. About the only way to fail would be to demonstrate an inability or unwillingness to follow the four universal safety rules.
This is perhaps the most complete and up to date website for keeping up with the every changing firearms laws across the US. It also includes detailed info and reciprocity maps showing which states honor your MN permit, currently 26.
I can’t recommend The Law of Self Defense strongly enough. If you own a gun for self-defense, even if just in your home, you need to read this book. Far from boring legalize, it clearly explains the legal principles surrounding self-defense law and has many stories of how those principles can play out in real life. Just get it!